| BarkVerified | Bark Jr $5/mo or $49/yr. Premium $14/mo or $99/yr. Both plus tax. | Yes. The phone app blocks, sets limits, and tracks location. | Yes. The phone app also monitors content. | Chrome and Edge extensions, plus connected accounts. Windows S mode cannot install Bark. | Texts, photos, videos, and WhatsApp are not read by the iOS app. Those scans need a Bark Sync charger, the Bark desktop app on a Windows or Mac computer, or Bark Home. Alerts are copies of flagged content, not every message. Scans can pause unless the passcode is entered, and they are not instant. |
|---|
| QustodioVerified | Basic $59.95/yr for up to 5 devices. Complete $104.95/yr. The pricing page shows annual billing only. | Yes. Web filtering in Safari and Chrome. App limits cover supported apps only. | Yes, including app monitoring and a Panic Button. | Windows and Mac. Kindle and Chromebook are also listed. | Calls and messages, including SMS and iMessage, need a parent's Mac or Windows computer, a cable for setup, and the same Wi-Fi network before data updates. Instagram, TikTok, Snapchat, and X message alerts, and the Panic Button, are described as Android only. Qustodio says all traffic to and from the iOS device is channeled through its servers. |
|---|
| AuraVerified | Kids $10/mo billed annually, or $13 billed monthly. Family $32/mo billed annually, or $50 billed monthly. 14-day trial. | iOS 16 or later. Uses a VPN configuration, the Aura Keyboard, and Screen Time permission. | Android 12 or later. | Windows only, for in-game voice and text alerts. No Mac or Chromebook child app is listed. | Parents get message volume and tone, and alerts when messages may indicate self-harm risk. Aura does not describe this as reading the messages. Its parental-controls notice says captured communications content is not retrievable by parents. |
|---|
| Norton FamilyVerified | $49.99 for the first year. The renewal price was not shown on the product page. Also included with Norton 360 Deluxe and Premium. | Yes, for web, search, time, and video supervision. | Yes. App supervision is available here and on Windows. Text supervision and call blocking are described as disabled on Android. | Windows. Norton says the child app is not supported on Mac, and Windows S mode is not supported. | Site monitoring expects the Norton Family browser. Norton says it does not monitor Safari. Other apps need a VPN. Instant Lock needs a device-management profile. App supervision is not listed for iOS. Location history is 30 days. |
|---|
| Net NannyPartial | Shown that day as $39.99/yr for 1 desktop, $54.99/yr for 5 devices, and $89.99/yr for 20 devices. | Yes. The child app uses a VPN and must keep running, or internet access stops. | The support page says Android, Kindle Fire, and Chromebook are not supported. That page still mentions a 2024 release. No newer statement was found. | Windows and Mac. | Filtering depends on the child app staying open. The pages that were read do not describe text or social-content monitoring on iOS. |
|---|
| Life360Verified | Free tier. Silver $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr. Gold $16.99/mo or $169.99/yr. Platinum $24.99/mo or $249.99/yr. Paid plans say 7 days free. These are web prices. | Yes. Location, driving, and crash features. | Yes. The same kind of location app. It is not a content monitor on either platform. | No computer app is described on the plan pages. | Location history, place alerts, driving summaries, crash detection, and related emergency features. It does not read messages or browsing. |
|---|
| Google Family LinkPartial | No price on the official pages that were read. | Cannot supervise the device. Screen time, location, app blocking, and Chrome limits will not work on a child's iPhone or iPad. | Android 6.0 and up, plus Chromebook (ChromeOS 71 and up) and Fitbit Ace LTE. | Chromebook only. Other computers cannot be supervised. | Device controls do not apply. Parents can still manage the child's Google Account settings. Family Link is not described as reading messages on any platform. |
|---|
| Apple Screen TimeVerified | Built into Apple devices. No separate subscription. | The native layer: limits, schedules, contact approval, Ask to Buy, Ask to Browse, and Communication Safety. | Not covered. | Mac, for the same family controls. Not Windows. | Parents set limits and approvals and can use Find My location. They do not receive message content. Communication Safety blurs nudity on the device. Apple says it does not get the photos or videos and does not get a notice that sensitive content was detected. |
|---|
| Microsoft Family SafetyPartial | No price on the product page. | The iOS app is for managing other devices. Screen-time limits and web filters are not listed for an iPhone as the child's device. | App and game limits, and Edge web filters. | Windows and Xbox. A Mac child device is not listed. Web filters apply in Microsoft Edge, and other common browsers are blocked so that can work. | It does not apply screen-time limits or filters to the iPhone. The current product page does not list location features. |
|---|
| Kaspersky Safe KidsVerified | Purchase is unavailable for US customers. | Not assessed for the US. | Not assessed for the US. | Not assessed for the US. Outside the US, the product page lists Windows, macOS, Android, and iOS. | Not assessed. Kaspersky says US app-store downloads and renewals have stopped. |
|---|
| MobicipVerified | Lite $2.99/mo for 5 devices, Standard $4.99/mo for 10, Premium $7.99/mo for 20. All billed annually. 7-day Premium trial. A free Basic plan covers 2 managed devices; its features are not listed on the pricing page. | Yes. Uses Screen Time permission. Only one parental-control app can hold that permission at a time. | Yes. App and category limits are described as taking effect immediately. | Windows, Mac, Chromebook, and Kindle Fire are listed. | Screen time reporting and limits need Screen Time access. Time limits work only on apps that use the internet, because Apple does not provide tracking data for other apps. Which social networks the Social Media Monitor covers on iOS is not stated on the pages that were read. |
|---|
| FamiSafePartial | Monthly $9.99 for 5 devices, quarterly $19.99 for 10, annual $59.99 for 30, on the plan page that rendered. The page says renewal charges the same amount. | Yes, with a device-management profile and Screen Time permission. iOS 11 or later. | Yes. Activity, browser-history, and app-usage reports are described as Android only. | Windows, Mac, and Chromebook are listed. Blocking app downloads on Windows and Mac is not supported, and computer browsing-time limits are described as not supported. | The vendor says it cannot capture WhatsApp on iOS and cannot access detailed social-media content. System apps such as Camera, Phone, and Contacts cannot be blocked. The phone shows a notice that the device is monitored. |
|---|
| CanopyPartial | Essential $8.33/mo for 1 device, Plus $9.99/mo for up to 3, Premium $12.50/mo for up to 10. All billed annually. One-week trial. | iOS 12 or later on the pricing page. Image filter, app and site blocking, screen time, and location alerts. | Android 9 or later. Sexting prevention and removal prevention are described here, not only alerts. | macOS 10.13 or later, Windows 10 or later except ARM, and ChromeOS. | An AI filter blocks explicit images. Sexting alerts scan Camera Roll photos, not videos, and not private or encrypted folders. Removing the app raises an alert. It does not prevent removal on iPhone. The pages do not describe reading texts or social messages. How the iOS web filter is installed (VPN, content filter, or device management) is not stated. |
|---|